Posted by: Borderless Borderguard | July 16, 2007

british perspective

A while ago a friend of mine posted her comment on a russian article, she cant read russian though. but this article provoked these ideas in her head:

“I’m not really sure what to say about borders. I never really thought of them being a problem – as a British citizen and an EU one I have never had any trouble crossing any. Having an Indonesian boyfriend has changed my perspective somewhat though and writing a thesis on European Identity has also led me to read a lot of literature on the fallacy and arbitrariness of national borders. In one week’s time I will be travelling with Ragil to Düsseldorf to pay 315€ for visitor’s visa to GB. I am extremely unimpressed that we have to pay so much so Ragil can visit my cousin’s wedding and come on holiday with my family. I really don’t think the British government has any right to demand such money from people wishing to visit the country. On the one hand I can understand the need to keep certain people out (those wishing to abuse the system or try to blow up the system) but I think the rest should be allowed in and out as they please, so long as they can prove they won’t scrounge off the state. For people entering a country to work I think they should all be allowed in if the job is there – I mean they pay taxes and as far as I am concerned they have as much right to be there as anyone else. I guess it isn’t that easy though. I would like to see a world without borders, but I guess it is a somewhat utopian fantasy – who knows what would happen if all borders were opened up. Maybe it would make the whole world a much nicer place, maybe it would lead to chaos.
On a different note, I have just finished a fantastic book that deals with the issue of crossing borders, of identity and of intercultural communication. It is called Misadventure in the Middle East and is by Henry Hemming. It comes highly recommended.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

